Board of Management

What is the Board of Management?

Since 1975 primary schools are governed by Boards of Management. Each board is made up of 8 people, who are appointed by the school’s patron. In St.Brigid’s the patron is the Catholic Archbishop of Dublin and the board is made up of two nominees of the patron, two parent nominees, two staff members (including the Principal) and two community nominees.
The board's main function is to manage the school on behalf of the patron, for the benefit of the students and to provide an appropriate education for each student at the school. We have approximately 6 meetings during each school year and meetings deal with a variety of topics, including current issues, budgeting, curriculum, policy development, employment and forward planning.

The term of each Board is 4 years. Our new Board of Management took office on December 1st and will remain in place until we move to our new school.

Members of the Board:

Chairperson: Fr Patrick Claffey: Patron's Nominee

Patricia Sharmalee: Patron's Nominee

Linda Hall: Community Nominee

Roderick Power: Community Nominee

Aine McGuckian: Parents' Nominee

Derek Jones: Parents' Nominee

Margaret Flynn: Teachers' Nominee

Annemarie Hogan: Principal